Internship? I don’t like it… Ah, I love it! :p

I am required to take up internship in the local industry as part of the course requirement for the special program I am taking for my PhD. Honestly speaking, I am not interested in it, because it is time consuming and not really related with my research. If I have 24 hours, I rather spend 23 on research than to do silly internship (don’t ask me what I would do with the 1 hour ๐Ÿ˜)… I mentioned that to Le Supervisor, and he agreed. ๐Ÿ˜œ

Yesterday, I finally received all information I need to know for the internship registration. Just now, I had discussion with Le Supervisor about which company to go for, when and for how long?

I handed in all the related forms, with the list of selected companies provided by the Industrial Promotion Foundation. It felt like I am inviting tasks I don’t want to do. You can imagine my facial expression, it couldn’t be cheerful. ๐Ÿ˜‘ โ† Looked like this. Haha!

I said: “Here the list of the companies. The only company that I think kinda related to my study is this one, although it is not really related, anyway…. (giving up the thought of fighting my unwillingness ๐Ÿ˜ž). We have to decide the preferred companies now and inform the coordinator to arrange for interview in the next 2 weeks… (in my mind: whatever, whatsoever, let me just quickly get it done so that they leave me alone with my research… ๐Ÿ˜’)”

He didn’t even look at it before he said: “No need! I’ve talked to a company owner I collaborate with. You are going to work in his place.”

The-surprised-me:”Oh, really? So will he interview me in the next 2 weeks?๐Ÿ˜ฎ

“No need, I told him you are very excellent. He WILL accept you, let’s just skip the interview part. ๐Ÿ‘Œ

“Ok. Good, it saves my time. What is it about?”

Le Supervisor: “It’s a grape farming company. You can see and conduct research on grape quality control and production there. I think you will like it, because I know you love grapes. ๐Ÿ˜‰” Haha, weird reason but yeah! ๐Ÿ’œ ๐Ÿ‡

“Yes! It sounds good!”

“Here, come!” ๐Ÿ‘‹, led me to his office and took out some printouts: “This is the young owner. He is very keen in solving his grape problems via research, he will take care of you. His father is also very friendly and talkative, you will like them. ”

I nodded and smiled. ๐Ÿ˜Š

“Do you like to have your internship there?”

The feeling-better-me: “Yes! Thank you. I will inform the course collaborator about this decision. It sounds very much better! ๐Ÿ˜ƒ

Le Supervisor was happy seeing me happy, he continued: “The farm is in the rural area, you will need a car to go there. ”

“Oh? But I don’t have car here…. ๐Ÿš—๐Ÿš—๐Ÿš—

“Yea, so we will go together with my car.”

“Ah, you mean every time I go for internship? ๐Ÿ˜จ

“Yes, I will send you there with my car every time you go, and send you home. ๐Ÿ˜Ž

Oh, that is like a VVIP internship program now. I didn’t know what and how should I respond. I just looked at him like an idiot. ๐Ÿ˜ถ

Le Supervisor: “You know they are producing the best grapes and wines in Japan. The old man is gonna let you try all of them and drink their excellent wines together after work. ๐Ÿท

The-over-excited-me: “Wohooo~~~ I’ll bring cheese!!! ๐Ÿ˜๐Ÿ˜๐Ÿ˜๐Ÿ˜๐Ÿ˜” โ† note that drastic mood swing, it is a criteria of an excited female creature. ๐Ÿ˜‚

Le Supervisor smiled at me: “Good that you like it. Please let S sensei (the coordinator) know. I can write you a recommendation letter to justify our decision.”

Me: “Ok! โ˜บ

“Angelyn, what language do you think is suitable for the recommendation letter?”

The-serious-me: “Hmmmm… if you want the company owner to read it too, then it’s better to be in Japanese.”

He thought for some moments: “Hmmmmm… Maybe in Japanese. Or I will write in English? Or espaรฑol? *wink wink*”, ahha! He still remember I can readย Spanish ๐Ÿ˜†!

I replied in unhideable excitement: “Jaa, espaรฑol por favor! โœŒ

He grinned merrily: “Now you are happy! ๐Ÿ˜Š

Of course I am happy! The not-so-interesting-internship has somehow turned into some countryside wine tasting activity with private coach somemore! ๐Ÿ˜„

Thank you Le Supervisor, for always putting my well-being as the priority! ๐Ÿ˜Š It makes me “*die heart collapse ground” to work hard for him, and I enjoy it, die-hardly. โ˜บ

*this is a direct translation of a Chinese proverb. Please ask any Chinese nearby you for better definition. ๐Ÿ˜›

5 Comments Add yours

Leave a Reply

