Roller Coaster Ride went Yiheeee~~~ ^_^

Done with my roller coaster ride! ๐Ÿ˜Š It went well even I only do mock presentation for once, lazily, last night, while focusing on the Euro Final. ๐Ÿ˜œ

1.5 hour of present (30 min talk + 60 min Q&A). I enjoyed it so much! ๐Ÿ˜ƒ

After my talk, the very-strict-never-smile Prof. S raised his hand first: “Angelyn, when I received your email on this paper you presented, I was so looking forward to hear your talk. ”

Wow, that surprised me! โ˜บ

Q&A session got everyone involved, they asked all kind of questions from experimental designs to risk sensitivity calculation and the mathematical modeling blar3… I was surprised that I could answer them all! ๐Ÿ˜‚

One of them criticized the parameters used to quantify the risk preference: “Do you think it’s the gambling behavior or it’s just the nature of the plant?”

I went a bit funny: “Well, based on the theoretical study, it’s considered as a risky decision making process. But I don’t know if the plant really gamble, because I’m not the plant! ๐Ÿ˜œ“, the whole hall laughed. ๐Ÿ˜

the very-strict-never-smile Prof. S even did a wrap up for me: “I think this topic is very challenging and tricky. But I like the way you relate it with Darwinian evolutionary theory and the hummingbird experiment. Thank you.ย ๐Ÿ˜Šย “

Wow, he smiled to me! He smiled to me!!! I felt like macam kena lottery!!! ย ๐Ÿ˜œ

After the presentation, Le Supervisor was waiting for me by the door. I asked him: “Do you like my presentation?”, because he wasn’t so happy with the paper this morning, and I was scared by his expression.ย ย ๐Ÿ˜ฑ

With bliss in his eyes: “Ohya, I enjoyed it so much! I think you did really well, I’m impressed! ๐Ÿ˜ƒ

Phew, now I’m relieved. ๐Ÿ˜„

Everyone continued to discuss after my speech, I like it that way! ๐Ÿ˜‰

The very cute K san: “Erm… that was interesting! Next time I want to try something like that too.” Oh oh…

When I got back to the office together with Le Supervisor (we were discussing along the way), the Big Boss was waiting for me, with a cup of coffee in his hand. โ˜•

Before I even sat down, he came by and started the conversation: “Angelyn, this is a very interesting paper! But I’m a bit curious about this part of data, can you further explain it?”, pointing on the figure in the handout he put on my desk (in Le Supervisor’s room).

“Oh, this part….. blar3 nasi lemak capati roti canai nasi bryani*…ย ๐Ÿ˜‚ย 

Le Supervisor also came by to join the discussion and we were forming the Triangle of ERS! LOL!!! We exchanged our opinions on the study for the coming 30 min or so before Big Boss gave me his signature thumbups: “Well done, Angelyn! I like your talk very much! ๐Ÿ˜‰ย 

Yay, that was encouraging! Thank you Sensei! ๐Ÿ˜Š

Later on, Le Supervisor told me: “Angelyn, you always select very challenging topic!”

“Yeah, I like to go out of my comfort zone and get everyone out too. ๐Ÿ˜Š I like to open up people’s mind and initiate discussions! Do you like it? Can I do it more in the future? ๐Ÿ˜ฎ

“Yes, of course! Please continue to confuse us! I love it so much! I can’t wait for your next talk. ๐Ÿ˜ƒ

Ah… it’s good to like it. But please wait patiently ne, because good things take time, especially for an extreme roller coaster ride. ๐Ÿ˜œ

โ€”โ€”ย ย feeling fabulous.

*those are the names of local food in Malaysia, I was hungry…ย ๐Ÿ˜‚

 

LikeShow More Reactions

Comment

7 Comments Add yours

Leave a Reply

