I know you, so I have to support you 😄

One year ago, I co-published a paper with Le Supervisor with the data I collected in 16 days during our first collaboration. I prepared the manuscript within 2 weeks, and submitted it to a selected journal. It got accepted in exactly one month with minor corrections after submission. โœŒ He was surprised with the speed of acceptance! ๐Ÿ™‚

Coinccidentally, I was in Japan again that time. Our desks were side by side, so he noticed whatever I was doing.

During the process of galley proof checking, he had some complaints about his previous student: “You know that guy (AC), he was very troublesome. He took a very long time to read the proof. Even after the paper got accepted and published, he found a spelling error and he even send email to the editor to ask for further correction! I don’t like his style. I think it was too much. ๐Ÿ˜ ”

I didn’t say anything, I just smiled at him. (It was actually an evil smile ๐Ÿ˜, LOL!!!)

8 days later our paper was published online. I took the chance to read the online version, and found a mistake in the use of punctuation, and a different in the thickness of lines on the same graph. I wasn’t happy with that and I told him I am going to contact the editor to correct them.

He was bengang: “Angelyn, why? It was already published! Never mind. I am the co-author and I don’t care… ๐Ÿ‘Œ”

“It’s fine, it is soft copy. I think they can correct them for us. ๐Ÿ‘”ย โ† insisting ๐Ÿ™Œ

“You want to correct the punctuation and line thickness? Seriously??? I think nobody will notice them. Forget about it!”

“No, I noticed them. My name is on it, and I prefer not to have errors on that publication. I can write to the editor, you don’t have to worry. ๐Ÿ˜Ž ”

“Ah…… you are more serious than AC! You checked the punctuation??? OMG!!!”ย โ† Headache ๐Ÿ˜จ๐Ÿ˜ฑ๐Ÿ˜“ ๐Ÿ˜‚

It took several rounds to improve the paper until it reached my level of errorlessness ๐Ÿ˜…. I got the editor to correct the punctuation, the thickness of line, the content display balance etc. Le Supervisor tried to stop me from proofreading every time I got the latest corrected version. He was impatient and kinda mad with my level of yimchimness, but I didn’t care ๐Ÿ˜›.

Today, lunch time.

Le Supervisor came in to check on me. I was putting highlights andย making some notes onย my currently accepted and published paper (yes, the one you saw on Facebook ๐Ÿ˜).

He was curious: “Angelyn, what are you doing? ๐Ÿ˜ถ”

“Ah, I found some errors on this paper, and I am marking them out, making correction notes and sending it back to the editor. ๐Ÿ˜„”

“Oh, again? You should get the co-authors to do it. They are in Malaysia.”

“It’s ok. I’ve found the contact of the chief editor, I will get to him directly. :)”

“Good, I hope they assist you on that.”

“Thanks! Oh, so this time you support me to contact the editor? Not like last time you kept stopping me. ๐Ÿ˜œ” *naughty smile*

He shrugged his shoulders and smiled in a very weird way: “Well, I know you well now. Even if I stop you, you are going to do it anyway. So I better support you, because I have no choice. ๐Ÿ˜…” Hahahahaha!

Thanks Le Supervisor! Your forced support is very much appreciated.๐Ÿ˜

6 Comments Add yours

Leave a Reply

