“Sensei, can Angelyn drink?” 😍

I have been working very closely with one of our collaborators as part of my internship. It’s a small project studying on the problems in grape farming. ๐Ÿ‡๐Ÿ‡๐Ÿ‡

Time flies, and Kw san has known me for almost a month now. Despite the tough data collection steps, we were having fun sampachi-ing around most of the time. ๐Ÿ˜œ

Today, he finally shown me the brewery in the farm. โœŒ They are producing great quality of wine made from selected Pioneer and Muscat grapes fresh from the farm. The room smells nice. He opened one of the brewery tanks for me, and I was excited looking around. ๐Ÿ˜

red-wine

Happy to see my expression, he scoped the wine and asked me: “Angelyn, can you drink? Do you want to try? This is really good one.;) ”

I looked to Le Supervisor (for him to reject him, because I am conducting research and I don’t want to drink). Yes, Le Supervisor was there too. And he was as excited as me. ๐Ÿ˜

Le Supervisor: “Angelyn, are you going to drive later? No, I will drive! So, you drink, I drive!” LOL!!! Such a response!!! ๐Ÿ˜‚

Kw san didn’t hear us, and he was eager to let me try his wine, he raised his voice: “Sensei, how old is Angelyn? Is she over 20* now?”

๐Ÿ˜‘ What a question?!?! ย Hahahaha!

Le Supervisor was confused, he said: “What over 20?”

“She is first year, and I’m not sure if she has celebrated her hatachi*? ๐Ÿ˜ฎ”

The old soul underneath my skin laughed out really loud. LOL!!!

Le Supervisor laughed: “Kw san, are you drunk? ๐Ÿ˜‚ Angelyn is definitely over 20, she is a PhD student. She is just a few years younger than you! ๐Ÿ˜„”

Kw san couldn’t believe, he put down the scope and came closer to me, study my face and asked: “*Honto? Honto?”

I gave him a sweet smile ๐Ÿ˜€ : “Yes, honto desyo.”

He looked at Le Supervisor with disbelief (Le Supervisor noded), Kw san shouted: “*Bikkuri shita! Bikkuri shita!!! Honto ni bikkuri shita!!! I thought she is a freshman all these while! She looks just like a teenage girl! ๐Ÿ˜ฑ๐Ÿ˜ฑ๐Ÿ˜ฑ”

Kw san, your question makes me bikkuri shita too. I’m embracing aging and you just tell me I’m growing backwards. I’m so shocked! ๐Ÿ˜

Le Supervisor tells him more about my research backgrounds and projects I have completed (especially on water pollution studies blar3), and now Kw san is asking for my “professional opinion” (ehhem! ๐Ÿ˜) on the application of manure in farming and its potential antibiotic effects on human, for one hour. Ahhhh… such a tough discussion, I rather pretend I am a 20 years old right now. ๐Ÿ˜

Anyway, today I finally understand why the cashier always ask for my ID when I was buyingย alcoholic drinks for the lab. My young looking skin confused them. ๐Ÿ˜

 

*20 years old is the legal age to drink alcohol in Japan

*Hatachi – special term for “20 years old”

*Honto?! – Really?!

*Bikkuri shita – I’m surprised! I’m shocked!

7 Comments Add yours

Leave a Reply

