Winter Solstice celebration – the researcher version

This Winter Solstice is one of the most devastating and exhausting ones for me.
ย 
I have a 9-hr long of lab work, consisting of 3 different experiments. I prepared 16 samples, 18 types of solutions, 32 sample slides and made 640 measurements continuously. I also did around 3-hr of journal reading to answer my doubt about my experimental design.
ย 
Anyway, I managed to weigh, wash, cut and cook the pumpkin dish, using the 8-min gap I have in between the sample exposure time. I was running in between the lab and office back and forth several time, because it’s Winter Solstice!!! I MUST cook something to celebrate it, because I’m TAMCIAK. ๐Ÿ˜œ
ย 
2100, after washing all my glasswares and clear my bench, I sat like a sotong ๐Ÿ™๐Ÿ™๐Ÿ™ in my desk eating the kabucha while chatting with my colleague about how we celebrate this festival back in Malaysia. I would make some Tangyuan. I brought some to the office last year, but this year I am frantically busy with my research, I skip that. Everyone is missing my Tangyuan today. I’m surprised. ๐Ÿ˜ She suggests to make it together tomorrow, she would love to learn. Not wanting to let her down, and also because I’m tamciak, so I agree. ๐Ÿ˜œ
ย 
Then we proceed to discussion about the ingredients. I told her I used to make Tangyuan with different colors with plants but I can’t get those ingredients (pandan, blue flower etc) here. She suggested we could use artificial colorings, but I refused. I would not want to put those in my food if I have other options. I was like: “Hmmmm…. green, I can make with greentea powder… red, we can use rose extract, but do you have it here?”
ย 
Unfortunately it’s a no. *brain storming* Me: “Ahah!!! I have rose at home, we can extract it!!!”
ย 
My cute colleague: “Yes, we can make rose powder!!! We have liquid nitrogen!!!” โ†I can see she is desperate to eat Tangyuan. I agree again, because I’m TAMCIAK! ๐Ÿ˜
ย 
So this is it! We are going to use liquid nitrogen to prepare our Tangyuan!!! Sounds so scientific!!! ๐Ÿ˜œ
ย 
Never give up, always find way out. ๐Ÿ˜‰ I’m sure with this attitude, we could do good research, and also good food. ๐Ÿ˜‹
ย 
Keywords: Tangyuan, TAMCIAK ๐Ÿ˜
2 Comments Add yours

Leave a Reply

