Valentine’s Day… He proposed me!!! ๐Ÿ˜ฑ๐Ÿ˜ฑ๐Ÿ˜ฑ

I am not a Valentine’s Day celebrator, so Valentine’s Day was just a usual Tuesday for me.

I wake up (as usual), have some readings (as usual), check emails (as usual)…

INBOX: Oh, Le Supervisor sends me an email early in the morning!!! ๐Ÿ˜ถ

A 2-line email: (strange! ๐Ÿ˜ต)

“Hi Angelyn!

Tell me whatever you need.”

So strange… ๐Ÿ˜ต I wanted to reply “I need a PhD RIGHT NOW!!! And a 6-month holiday, twice a year!!! ๐Ÿ˜”

Oh, but that sounds a little over because I just had a loooooooonnnnngggggg holiday, just two days ago. ๐Ÿ˜

I didn’t reply him and went straight to the office.

We have discussions and share funny jokesย along the day (as usual ๐Ÿ˜).

He was leaving around 8pm (as usual), when I told him I would stay back late today (it was yesterday ๐Ÿ˜). He decided he would come back after dinner for something he told me he would do on the next day. Strange…

He came back around 9pm and there was only two of us in the whole building.

I was working on my documents, and he started talking to me on something funny. I ignored him because I was on FOCUS mode. ๐Ÿ˜

Ok, he appears pity. I entertained him. Hehe.

Few hours later, he said: “Angelyn, you have a good brain and I have good physical. We could…..”

I didn’t understand: “What do you mean? Are you sure? Can we actually do that?” ๐Ÿ˜ฎ

He looked into my eyes, very sincerely: “Yes! I am proposing to you!!! ๐Ÿ˜Ž”

I didn’t say anything at that moment.

An hour later, I read on some funny posts on Facebook and shared that with him. ๐Ÿ˜…

Me: “Do you know today is Valentine’s Day? People are getting funny at some point. Hahahaha.”

Le Supervisor: “Yes~ It’s Valentine’s Day, that’s why there are boxes of chocolates on the table, all you can eat!”

choco.jpg

Ok, I sapu* some of the chocolates, because I was HUNGRY!!! *roar!!!!* ๐Ÿ˜๐Ÿ˜๐Ÿ˜

It was getting real late and he appeared very sleepy, he was lying on the desk like a dummy. ๐Ÿ™ His facial expression was amusing and he started speaking funny English.ย โ† tongue malfunctioning ๐Ÿ˜‚

Me: “Hey, you are sleeping. Please go home and have good rest.” I am a night owl and he is an early bird. I could see that sleepiness was slowly drowning him ๐ŸŒŠ๐ŸŒŠ๐ŸŒŠ๐ŸŒŠ๐ŸŒŠ. Hehehehe…

“No, no, no… I am waiting for you… Look at me (widen his eyes ๐Ÿ˜‚), I am fully awake!!!” Hahaha, I laughed at the physically awaken but mentally asleep him. Since he insisted to stay, I just let him win. ๐Ÿ˜

I was eager to finish my document before going home, so I just kept typing while he was walking around, appearing-like working on the desktop, half-sleeping on his chair…๐Ÿ˜…

It was until 12.05 am that I announced I am done for the day! He jumped, happily saving all his files and appeared very excited. ๐Ÿ˜‘

“Oh, you look energized now! Welcome back! ๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿ‘ Hehehe…”

“Of course, it is a new day!!! *blink blink*”

He picked up my jacket for me. It is winter and it was 0ยฐC. โ„โ„โ„

“Angelyn, your jacket is so thin! Can it keep you warm?”

“It is ultra lightweight jacket. It can keep warm but I still feel cold below 5 sometimes.”

“Mine is thicker. Check this out.”, so I check on the thickness of his jacket, it’s warm and good. ๐Ÿ‘

“Oh, yours is better. I wish to have one like this but I couldn’t find now. Everywhere is selling spring attires since last 2 weeks.” ๐Ÿ˜

Taking off his jacket: “Here, you can have mine!”

We bundled up together. I shut down all the appliances, and he locked the doors. We put on gloves while walking on the hallway out. It was only two of us left in the whole institute. Phew…

He waited for me to pick up the bike and we walked our way home together, appreciating the bright round moon. Upon splitting up, I wished him “Good morning!” ๐Ÿ˜Š

“Oh, yeah! Good morning to you too!”, we laughed our way back. ๐Ÿ˜Š

It is the first time we exchanged “Good morning – Good evening – Good morning” in a roll since we get to know each other. It is remarkable! I must mark it down on the calendar! โœŒ๐Ÿ˜œ

It might soundย romantic to you, but it was not! It was actually DEADLINE! I was chasing my grant application deadline and he was after his manuscript revision deadline (sort of). Our Valentine’s Day just sounded DEADLINEs! Hahahaha!!!

And if you ask about his proposal? NO, I rejected his proposal. I personally think that running 4 projects for a PhD is way enough, I do not need an extra one. ๐Ÿ˜›

P/S: Your kindness in holding back your urge to beat me up for the click bait is very much appreciated. ๐Ÿ˜๐Ÿ˜๐Ÿ˜๐Ÿ˜๐Ÿ˜

*sapu: Malay term for “sweep”. Yes, I was sweeping all the chocolates into my tummy. ๐Ÿ˜

7 Comments Add yours

Leave a Reply

