Birthday Surprise!!! I’m loved and I’m blessed ๐Ÿ˜

Today is a day full of surprises for me. 

I came in the office when Big Boss was leaving with his umbrella. He waved to me “Hi!” and disappeared in the heavy rain. He usually looked strict but he was smiling at me. Wow, what a surprise! ๐Ÿ˜Š

Right after I got into the office, I was informed that I need to clear my desk because my new desk is here (๐Ÿ˜ฎ???). I didn’t order any desk? Huh????

Our admin staff was rushing me to move out all my belongings from my current desk and drawer. Le Supervisor was smiling but not answering my doubt?! Well, I just follow the flow then. Hmmmmm…. ๐Ÿ˜ฎ๐Ÿ˜ฎ๐Ÿ˜ฎ

My “old” desk was moved away and a bigger desk with better function got into my place. Hmmmmm… I still couldn’t understand what was happening. ๐Ÿ˜ฎ

The lab members were busy unwrapping the desk, fixing my table lamp, sweeping my workplace etc. Me? I was standing, watching with my tilted head trying to figure out which chapter of the book they are in. Hehe.

“Angelyn, where do you want your desk to be place? Here? There? Closer to the window? Closer to M sensei (Le Supervisor)?”

I gave instructions to get the best fengshui spot I could imagine. ๐Ÿ˜ I got some bookshelves discarded, old books relocated, furnitures rearranged and walla! I have a great working space with superb view. Yohoooooo!!!! โœŒโœŒโœŒโœŒ (Surprisingly, I have no idea why? I just got excited! ๐Ÿ˜)

Other lab members left after I got settled. I was sitting on the new desk, swinging on my chair, enjoying the view and “absorbing the good fengshui qi” ๐Ÿ˜‚. Meanwhile, Le Supervisor was busy rearranging the small little things we have around us. I went real happy with the new office layout (although I still didn’t know where and why I got a new desk, haha!).

He kept asking me: “Is this good for you? Do you want this shelf here? Do you like it?”

I got so happy with big smile on my face, when the Big Boss suddenly came in. He checked on me: “So… Angelyn, do you like it?”

Oh, it was from him!!! ๐Ÿ˜Š๐Ÿ˜Š๐Ÿ˜Š I recall when he got big funding last few months, the first thing he did was asking me what I need to make me happier? I told him I just need his smile. ๐Ÿ˜Š Now, he got me a new desk I didn’t ask for, and I love it. ๐Ÿ’

“Yes!!! I like it very much and I’m happy! Thank you!!!”

“Good!”, he smiled and walked away without further justification. ๐Ÿ˜‚ Oh, I love his smile. ๐Ÿ˜Š

Lunch time, I went to the pantry serving Malaysian food to the lab members as I promised. You know, just a random plan of a random me anyway. Hehe. 

Big Boss was there. The first thing he said when he saw me: “Angelyn, this afternoon 3pm, we will have cake party. Please make yourself free and come. ๐Ÿ˜Ž”
I don’t have experiment plan today, so I agreed to attend. 

I asked Le Supervisor what is that party about? He smiled suspiciously: “Oh, I don’t know. You just come!”

Le Supervisor kept chasing me to the pantry when it’s about time. Big Boss chaired it: “Today is a good day, we had great lunch prepared by Angelyn. Now, we are celebrating her birthday!”

Oh, it’s my birthday party??? ๐Ÿ˜ฑ๐Ÿ˜ฑ๐Ÿ˜ฑ Wow, what a surprise!!! ๐ŸŽ‰๐ŸŽ‰๐ŸŽ‰๐ŸŽ‰๐ŸŽ‰

I was informed that Big Boss walked 2km away this morning in the rain just to get me cake. Oh, he was leaving for cake when I met him this morning! ๐Ÿ˜ฑ 

We partied for almost 2 hours. He said: “I hope you enjoy the cake, the party, and your birthday present (the desk). ๐Ÿ˜Š”

Oh, I’m so touched. It’s not even my birthday yet. Sorry for the messy write-up, I’m still overwhelmed. ๐Ÿ˜

And oh, today I do not have good progress. All I did was moving desk-feeling happy-enjoyed my window view-prepared Malaysian lunch-enjoyed lunch with all the m members-swinging round and round on my chair and enjoyed the good fengshui ๐Ÿ˜-attended a mysterious party-had cake-had fun-completed a review report (โฌ…the one and only research related task ๐Ÿ˜‚)-wrote a blog-going home. ๐Ÿ˜

In a nutshell: Today is a surprising day with surprises and surprisingly low progress by a surprised me. Hahahaha!

Thank you all for making my day. ๐Ÿ’ 

I’m loved and I’m blessed. ๐Ÿ’–