Jealousy = Motivation??? ๐Ÿ˜ฎ๐Ÿ˜ฎ๐Ÿ˜ฎ

Aside from our current running projects, I am writing a paper on water toxicity assessment with Le Supervisor. It involves huge size of data of which I struggled to cope with. We spent countless days (since February 2016) on the figure preparations and discussion. It is coming to an end soon (I anticipate) because we have make things all clear for this paper: from the justification, supports of hypothesis, flow of discussion and conclusion, every single chain of it was well studied and detailed. โœŒ

I completed the close-to-final draft of the manuscript in November 2016 and sent it to Le Supervisor ๐Ÿ“ƒ. He promised me that he will go through it and soon we could proceed to submit. Anyway, it is April 2017 now, and I still haven’t receive feedback from him. I understand that he is super busy (of course I know because I am sitting next to him and I watch him drown by the overwhelming workloads ๐ŸŒŠ๐ŸŒŠ๐ŸŒŠ). Thus I never push him or urge him to have a look on it, I believe he would get back to me when he is ready for that. I just need to patiently waiting, well, because I am drowning* in my PhD research as well ๐Ÿ˜‚. LOL!!!

Today, we received an email regarding a meeting invitation to Taiwan. It would be in the year end. He asked if I would like to be there? I am indifferent, well I can be there if you want me to be there. ๐Ÿ‘‰๐Ÿ‘ˆ Well, obviously he wants me to be there. Ok, so I will go. Haha!

I read through the email I received on my PC. Oh, it’s in XXXX (a famous institute in Taiwan)!!!

Me: “Ah, I know a guy from that institute! Prof. HP! Maybe I could meet him during that visit!”, sounded excited. ๐Ÿ˜

Le Supervisor was curious (because he never heard about that): “Oh, who is he?”

“He is a professor in that institute. Last month I attended an international workshop in QQQ remember? I spoke to this guy working on acid rain โ˜” and fish ๐ŸŸ. We had some discussion on the effect of acid to freshwater and seawater fish blar3… He was so happy with the fruitful chat, he gave me his name card and offered me a post in his lab. After he returned to Taiwan, he still keep in touch with me through email…”

jealousy
Definition of Jealousy

Le Supervisor: “Oh, really?” โ† sounded unhappy ๐Ÿ˜‘.

I surfed through the internet to show him the picture of Prof. HP ๐Ÿ‘”. I got to the website of his research group. “So, this is the guy! They are working on ion channels on the fish skin and trying to trace the evolution of this pH regulation system from the ancestors of the fish ๐Ÿ blar3…”, scrolling down to the ion channels illustration, I briefed him on what this professor is doing.

Le Supervisor looked at me with a complicated expression ๐Ÿ˜: “Ion channels, I’m working on that too. Hey, that’s my ion channel!!! โ˜” *pointing at one section of the diagram.

“Yes, I know. That’s why I still can continue the discussion with him in depth. Thanks to you. ๐Ÿ˜Š”

He smiled: “Angelyn, do you want to work on ion channel with me? ๐Ÿ˜Ž”

I returned with a mischievous beam ๐Ÿ˜†without answering his question** ๐Ÿ˜: “Prof. HP is very eager to work with me probably because he knows how much I know about the water? I don’t know. He invites me to visit his lab several times already but you know I have no time because of you*.”

Le Supervisor was serious: “So… You want to work on fish with this guy? ๐Ÿ˜ฃ” *obviously jealous ๐Ÿ˜ก* + he knows how much I love fish.

“I am not sure. I think I can let him know about my visit to their institute, and perhaps visit his lab and see what kind of research they are working on? What do you think? ๐Ÿ˜ฎ Oh! I can also discuss about the water paper we (Le Supervisor and me) are writing if it hasn’t got published by then.” โ† now it sounds real important to visit Prof HP’s lab ๐Ÿ˜.

“No, Angelyn. I am positive that our water paper will be published by then. I am very positive with that! You do not have to meet him or visit his lab! ๐Ÿ˜ฌ”

“Really?”

“Yes, really! Where is the manuscript? I am reading it RIGHT NOW!!!” LOL!!! His response was cute! ๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚

Jealousy is bad for health, but I like how jealousy works as motivation for Le Supervisor in this case. ๐Ÿ˜ I shall write out all the job offers I received and tell him one by one whenever he needs some encouragement. ๐Ÿ˜œ I am very bad, I know. *insert evil laugh* Hahahahahahaha!!! ๐Ÿ˜๐Ÿ˜๐Ÿ˜

*workload, workload, workload… If you want to work in Japan, you have to enjoy workload… *entering workload zen ๐ŸŽ‹๐ŸŽ‹๐ŸŽ‹* ๐Ÿ˜Š

**Le Supervisor offers me a post after my PhD to work with him, since my first semester. I do not accept yet I do not reject. I leave it open because I feel that it’s too early to decide and I need more time to find out if I really love to stay. He mentioned about that several times, like every few months ๐Ÿ˜‚. I just smile at him without saying anything. It’s a commitment, and I often take commitment only after serious consideration. ๐Ÿ˜‰

7 Comments Add yours

Leave a Reply

