Manuscript Review: May peace be with them… ๐Ÿ˜

I have been reviewing a manuscript submitted to a peer-review journal, on behalf of Le Supervisor. I was appointed as a co-reviewer and I accepted that. โœŒ

The manuscript was on a project regarding green materials. The authors performed some modeling studies to identify the relationship of the chemical structures of the materials and the ecotoxicology impact to model bioindicators.

I did a thorough read-up and research background check on the research groups. We had discussion on the strength and weakness of the paper together. Le Supervisor and me had different view on parts of their claims, and we debated over and over to come to an agreement on what to put down as comments. I took up some of his stand and he took up some of mine. We achieved “debate equilibrium” and “ceased fire”. ๐Ÿ˜

I prepared the review report and we questioned the reliability and safety of the claimed to be green materials, finding a weakness in the model they generated. In the report, I challenged their conclusions and questioned their discussion drawn from the modeling results (like a very mean reviewer, but I’m having a kind heart you know… ๐Ÿ˜†).

Le Supervisor said I am a very strict and serious scientist, he delivered his sympathy to the authors ๐Ÿ˜‚. But he was a mean one as well when we were criticizing the finding of the research group. LOL!!!

This afternoon, we received a revised version of the manuscript from the chief editor. We are requested to review it over and submit another report before the final judgement on to accept or to reject it.

I read through the reply from the authors: “Hmmmm… they didn’t answer my question on the mode of action! I am not satisfied.”

Le Supervisor moved over to my desk: “What they wrote…. blarx3…. *reading the text*…. Oh, they are trying to skip your point….”

Annoyed me: “They are trying to hide the negative impacts of the materials… this is very bad!”

“Yeah, they are drawing a different conclusion from the model…”

“This is cheating! Perhaps they are funded by some companies to show that the materials are environmental friendly, which are actually not.” I think I was a little mad, I can feel flame coming out from my eyes. ๐Ÿ”ฅ๐Ÿ”ฅ๐Ÿ˜„

Le Supervisor: “Angelyn, maybe we can write “Please state that the material with xxx structure in the chain is not safe”… we urge them to state that to get it published.”

Getting support from my supervisor is making me happy: “Yeah, I think we should! Ok, I will write that. Haha, I think we are very mean reviewers. The authors will be upset reading our report.”

He smiled: “Yes, but this is science. Other reviewers who are not familiar with the modeling study or not careful like us might not find out the missing part in their study and just say ‘ok, accept!’, but we! We checked through their equations one by one, and study the toxicity relationship they claimed. We found the suspicious part. Angelyn, you are good, we are good. ๐Ÿ˜Ž”

Me looking at him: “You know not all scientists are like you. Some got funded to conduct research to prove a particular conclusion, especially those funded by business companies. They do nasty research, write untrue reports to get money. I really hate that. You are not like them, you are serious like me, you are a good scientist. ๐Ÿ˜Š” *sounded like praising him, but actually I was praising myself ๐Ÿ˜œ*

He was happy: “Of course, I am a good scientist.”

“Yes, you are a good scientist! ๐Ÿ‘”

“Yeah, always…”

Me: “Yes, you are ALWAYS a good scientist. ๐Ÿ‘ Are you happy now? ๐Ÿ˜” I started laughing triggered by my own funniness. Hahahaha!

He got amused: “Hey, that’s not what I want you to say.”, he was laughing along. Hehehehe. ๐Ÿ˜

peace

I believe that every scientist is responsible for the finding they claimed. Science is an on-going process and what we claim can give a long impact on the development on scientific research. Money and benefit are short-termed, but the research outcomes are long-lasting, it directs the flow of the research by the younger generations. We are still citing some classic findings published in centuries ago, for examplesย On the Origin of Speciesย by Charles Darwin etc, up to today! Every paper we published, will stay available even decades or centuries after our death. Once I told my friend, if you cannot be serious with your research, you better quit. Even if you be a pirated CD seller, you would make more good than a bad scientist. He got pissed. ๐Ÿ˜ Sounds so serious I know, but research is something serious. ๐Ÿ’ช

As a true scientist, we should take our research honestly, carefully and seriously. That’s my philosophy on science. That explains why I always have serious a.k.a resting bitch face when I am working on my research. I often shocked my colleagues. They thought I have schizophrenia because I can switch into a bitch from a cheerful girl right after I step into the lab. I just switch into Focus Mode actually. Hehe. Funny claims annoyed me. I will stay as a serious researcher/reviewer/collaborator for the rest of my research life… Oh, poor researchers who will be “encountering” me… May mercy, peace and love be theirs in abundance. Hehehehe…

4 Comments Add yours

Leave a Reply

