“Awwwwhhhhh…. I miss Malaysia….” ๐Ÿ˜ข

Growing up in Malaysia, a country blessed with a wide range of tropical fruits makes me a happy fruit lover ๐Ÿต. I love all of the seasonal and non-seasonal fruits available all year round in my beloved home country, for instance guava, papaya, mangosteen, cempedak, rose apple, langsat, rambutan, ciku (sapodilla), starfruit, nangka (jackfruit), mango… just to name a few. Out of those mouth watering fruits, I love durian the most. I describe myself as a Durian Ghost, of which I would die for durian ๐Ÿ‘ป๐Ÿ‘ป๐Ÿ‘ป. Hahahaha!

After I join my current institute in Japan to pursue my PhD, I’ve missed the seasons of durian since 2015. Conducting research on living specimens is a pain, I am constrained in order to maintain them. It is a mental torture to watch your family and friends sharing photos of durians to you, but you can’t put your hands on them, lick them and swallow them. Sigh…. such a sacrifice for a Permanent Head Damage. LOL!!!

Now, durian is in season again. My brother sent me photos of durian stall full of durians, and my friends are telling me how great the durians are. Arrrrgggghhhh…. ๐Ÿ˜ฒ๐Ÿ˜–๐Ÿ˜ซ๐Ÿ˜ญ

Image result for durian
Durian is love, durian is life. ๐Ÿ˜‹

I lean over on my desk after reading their texts (expressing my powerlessness ๐Ÿ˜ฉ): “Awwwwwhhhhh…. I miss Malaysia…..” I was working on my data analysis full of passion a moment before. โ† DIDMS (Durian-induced drastic mood swing ๐Ÿ˜).

Le Supervisor is concerned, he turns over to me: “What happened Angelyn?”

Me, depressed: “What what happened? ๐Ÿ˜’”

“You usually don’t say you miss Malaysia. I have never heard you saying that before.” Yes, it’s my first time to say that ๐Ÿ˜”.

“Haish… look! *showing him my phone chat with photos of durians* Durian is in season now, I really miss durian….. ๐Ÿ˜–”, sound like a pity girl ๐Ÿ˜€.

“Ahhhh, poor you. I don’t miss durian, but I miss mangosteen.” Once I brought him for nice mangosteen when he visited me, and he loved it ๐Ÿ‘.

Image result for durian and mangosteen
Juicy mangosteen, awwwwww….. ๐Ÿ˜

“Durian and mangosteen are in the same season. Durian is the king of fruits ๐Ÿ‘‘, and mangosteen is the queen ๐Ÿ‘ธ. Wahhhhhhhh!!!! I really NEED to eat durians!!!!”

That triggers his empathy (haha!): “Angelyn, let’s just go to Malaysia! ๐Ÿ˜Ž”

“When??? When??? When??? ๐Ÿ˜”

“This weekend, we go secretly. You eat durians and I eat mangosteens, then we come back by Monday. โœŒ”

Excited me: “Ok, let’s book the flight tickets now!!! ๐Ÿ’ช”

Ticket price for 2-way as of today is MYR 3,194 (JPY 83,350)/pax.

Imagine I eat 10 kg of durian in the weekend, each kg will cost me over MYR 300, hmmmm…. Once I had a very expensive durian, it was MYR 150/kg. Now this is more than double the price, I might as well order a courier and it is still cheaper. ๐Ÿ˜ No, sensei, your proposal is rejected. Please save the money for other high-end food. ๐Ÿ˜

Awwwwwhhhhh, durian, I miss you….. *cry in Malaysian ๐Ÿ˜ญ*

Image result for durian orange
Some wild type varieties of durian (known as the wild durians). Yum yum… ๐Ÿ˜‹
5 Comments Add yours

  1. Luna says:

    I think that’s what every Malaysian misses when they’re away from home, haha! I did a summer semester in the UK, and even in that short amount of time my craving for nasi lemak drove me crazy.
    Hang in there, I’m sure you’ll be able to gorge yourself when you get back here! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. angelyn00i says:

      Dear Luna, thank you for the positive vibe and the reminder of Nasi Lemak. Awwww… I miss Nasi Lemak, and Roti Canai, and Bakkutteh, and Curry Laksa….. Awwwwwwhhhhhh….. ๐Ÿ˜ญ๐Ÿ˜ญ๐Ÿ˜ญ๐Ÿ˜ญ

      Like

Leave a Reply

