Interim Presentation: I left them speechless… LOL!!! ๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚

Yohoooooooo~~~ After some moments of abnormal heart beating, my interim presentation is finally over!!!!! ๐ŸŽ‰๐ŸŽ‰๐ŸŽ‰๐ŸŽ‰ It was a fun ride, I thought I would have heart attack there, but nope, I was very calm, steady and enjoy my SHOW TIME! ๐Ÿ˜Š

My one-man presentation was scheduled to start at 16:00 local time. The attendees were made up of 68 professors and some post-graduate researchers and students. This kind of presentation is usually held with time limitation and with other presenters, but due to my “special identity”, it was held just for me. Now you see why I expected a heart collapse. ๐Ÿ˜

I got to the hall 30 minutes earlier to adjust myself to the ambient. There was nobody there. ๐Ÿ‘

The first person to enter was the admin staff, he prepared a gorgeous timer for me made up of an ipad, oh, that’s so kind of him! ๐ŸŒธ He also passed me a very expensive (his words) laser pointer. Yeah, it is 30,000 yen (~ 1163 MYR). OMGoodness!!! ๐Ÿ˜ฑ๐Ÿ˜ฑ๐Ÿ˜ฑ I make sure I did not drop it or I’ll get into instant poverty. Haha!!!

Le Supervisor came in second, he was happy with bliss on his face: “Angelyn, I will not help you to answer any questions. Please do not look at me! ๐Ÿ˜Ž” LOL!!!!

“I did not expect you to answer any questions for me!!! *cute kitten roar!!!!* Oh, and I will still look at you as part of the audiences and you can’t do anything about it. Ne ne ne ne ne…. ๐Ÿ˜”, you see, that’s how he spoiled my serious mood. ๐Ÿ‘ฟ Haha!

He laughed, picking out a piece of paper from his file: “Look at this!”

Ah, it’s my CV!!! ๐Ÿ˜ฎ

“I will introduce your background on behalf of you if the audiences ask about that. How to pronounce this word? *that’s my school name ๐Ÿ’*”, Oh my, my supervisor is more prepared for my presentation than I am. ๐Ÿ˜†

A moment later, Big Boss came in. He was standing across the room looking at me. ๐Ÿ‘€ I gave him a smile. He raised his hands with fingers crossed while returning my smile ๐Ÿ’ช. I crossed my fingers too and he nodded. Awww… with that kind of support I have from the people around me, I am more motivated to hold the show. ๐Ÿ˜

fingers-crossed
Fingers crossed!!! โ˜๐Ÿ‘†๐Ÿ‘‡๐Ÿ‘‰๐Ÿ‘ˆโœ‹๐Ÿ‘‹๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿ‘Œ๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿ‘…

The hall was gradually filling up when the time gets closer to 4 pm. The event organizer (Sz sensei) briefed the floor about the reason why we are here today blar3… and I got my mic.๐ŸŽค

The light was dimmed and the hall was so quiet, I can hear the click on my soft keyboard. ๐Ÿ˜„

I started it off with introduction on my research interest… OMB!!! The professors all looked so serious, too serious for my style. Haha! So I play around with the laser pointer while delivering my talk, and some of them started to chuckle. Now, that’s my floor! โ˜๐Ÿ‘พ

I delivered my philosophy on science, smooth and slowly. I think it was not too bad for a presentation that I only practiced for 2 times.

I was expecting some strange and weird questions from the professors when Sz sensei opens the floor to questions. Strangely, all I got was total silence…….. ๐Ÿง๐Ÿง๐Ÿง๐Ÿง๐Ÿง๐Ÿง LOL!!!

Sz sensei: “Anyone who is expert in the field can comment on Ooi san’s research. The design, or the research plans….”

—— dead silence ——–

They just looked at me and smiled. What does that mean??? ๐Ÿ’

Sz sensei: “Well, it seems like you are the only expert in this field now, Angelyn. ”

Haha! I don’t know what should I respond. ๐Ÿ˜…

A few minutes later, my audiences got warmed up and started to ask some questions which are kinda of layman. I got them answered one by one. ๐Ÿ˜‰

My presentation session was closed 1.5 hour later. The floor gave me a round of loud and long applause ๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿ‘ before they congratulate me and leave the hall.

Le Supervisor came to me, he picked my lappy and walked me back to our office ๐Ÿ˜Š.

“Usually these guys ask a lot of questions and never give the presenters a break. But today, they are so quiet. Strange!!!”

“Haish…. I don’t know why as well. ๐Ÿ˜ฎ”

“Oh, Angelyn! I know why! ๐Ÿ™Œ”

“Oh, why???”

“Because your study is very neatly developed and you are very clear about what you are doing. You’ve leave no space for them to question. Well done!!!๐Ÿ‘ ”

Wow, thank you! I’ll take that silence as a compliment then!!! ๐Ÿ˜๐Ÿ˜๐Ÿ˜

Getting back to the office, I started to prepare for my coming presentation. Yeah, another presentation is up soon, and I have no time for chit-chat!!! Poor me…. I feel sympathy to myself. LOL!!!

Le Supervisor left for experiment and I continued on my slides. After getting the outline clear, I walked to the pantry to grab a drink ๐Ÿต. Phew………….

When I was enjoying my break, I saw someone was peeking at our office through the glass slot on the door ๐Ÿ˜ฎ. Hmmmm…. strange….. He came to peek through the pantry as well while I was standing (hiding) beside the fridge. ๐Ÿ˜

Oh, I recognized him!!! He is the bad-tempered and strict professor famous to scream at people. ๐Ÿ˜จ

I heard from Le Supervisor before, that this guy is trying to form collaboration with him. I presume he is looking for him?

I got down the drink and proceeded to check on my plants in the lab. Oh, here he is again, peeking through the front door of our lab, like a spy???? ๐Ÿ˜‘ I entered the lab from the back door and saw Le Supervisor in there, so I turned to call him: “Sk sensei? Are you looking for M sensei (Le Supervisor)? He is here!!!”

I saw him walking over, I informed Le Supervisor that Sk sensei is here for him. Then I got myself into the plant room. ๐Ÿ€๐Ÿ€๐Ÿ€

It is to my surprise that when I came out from the GMO room holding the watering can, Sk sensei was standing beside the door. Huh!!! ๐Ÿ˜ถ

I bow to him and got my can filled. He was still standing there with Le Supervisor. Hmmmmmmm….

Sk sensei spoke to me for the first time: “Angelyn, it was a very excellent speech.”

“Thank you.”

“I have some questions to ask you….”

“Yes?”

“So you are using this xxfgk, iieut, and ppwkj mutants. Why do you think you observed that blar3 in the response…..”

I explained my hypothesis to him and we had discussion for over 20 minutes standing around the door with me holding a watering can ๐Ÿ˜‚. He was seeking for answers on parts of the mutant behaviors that he didn’t understand. I think I gave him what he needs, he thanked me and moved away ๐Ÿ˜„.

Le Supervisor winked at me: “Well done, Angelyn! You are great!

Awwww…. having discussion holding a filled watering can is awkward, but the outcome is not bad. ๐Ÿ˜„

— Back in the office —

While I was knocking on my keyboard, Le Supervisor came in: “Angelyn, I have something very important to tell you! ๐Ÿ“œ”

“What is that?”

“Ma sensei just informed me that he would like to invite you to give a speech in an international young scientist forum in this August. Will you do that?”

“Oh…. when? Haish…. I am so tired…. can I don’t go…… ๐Ÿ˜…”

He looked at me: “I know, I don’t want you to go too. But, look at this *opening an email ๐Ÿ“ฉ*”

……. ah……… Big Boss has informed the organizer that he will be sending “Angeryn” as a representative!!! NOOOOOOOOOOOO!!!! ๐Ÿ˜ต๐Ÿ˜ต๐Ÿ˜ต๐Ÿ˜ต๐Ÿ˜ต๐Ÿ˜ต๐Ÿ˜ฐ

With helplessness in my whole body gesture ๐Ÿ˜…: “Well, he wrote Angeryn, that’s not me. I will pretend I am not informed and not going ๐Ÿ˜. By the way, are they providing good food and ice-cream??? ๐Ÿ˜‹”

“Oh, you want to know that? Let me write to Ma sensei. If they provide you nice food, then you go, ok? ๐Ÿ˜Š”

“Okay!!!! โœŒ” โ†  100% food-induced researcher ๐Ÿ˜„

With that, I think my PhD research is somewhat up to the level and now I can relax…… and continue with my magic practice. Yaaayyyyhhhhaaaayyyyyyy!!!!! ๐ŸŽฉ๐Ÿ’Ž๐Ÿ’ž๐Ÿฉ๐Ÿฝ๐Ÿ˜

4 Comments Add yours

Leave a Reply

