Stress Management: “Have you heard about the story of this lady? ๐Ÿ˜Š”

Le Supervisor is going to have an important presentation tomorrow in front of a hall of experts. It’s a proposal on a new project. We know that the idea is new and might raise controversial comments from conservative researchers.

He has been working hard on the preparation. Sometimes, we discuss to improve the slides ๐Ÿ“Š๐Ÿ“ˆ๐Ÿ“ง. ย I thought he is almost ready for it. Then….

His face was pale blue when I enter our room from the lab just now. I looked at him with question marks floating around my head. ๐Ÿ˜ฎ

He leaned over on his desk (probably learn from me ๐Ÿ˜): “Ahhhh, Angelyn. I’m feeling so blueeeeeeee….”

“Oh, Thursday Blue? What’s wrong? ๐Ÿ˜ฎ”

“Tomorrow I’ll have the presentation…”

“Yea… 3pm right? I’ll be there. ๐Ÿ‘”

“I’m feeling so stress now ๐Ÿ˜ซ…”

I turned over: “Why? You’ll be fine. ๐Ÿ˜Š”

“They will attack me and throw mean words at me… Arggggghhhhh…. ๐Ÿ˜ซ” *falling down into emotional dark hole*

stress
The ultimate stress management techniques I acquiredย ๐Ÿ˜

Trying to comfort him, I said: “You are over-thinking. Just remember that in less than 24 hour it will be over. Please don’t stress yourself with things that are yet to happen. It might not happen you see ๐Ÿ˜‰. Who knows they will like it? Calm down… ๐Ÿ˜Š”

He was breathing heavily: “Some of them are just mean, I’m stressful thinking about facing them. ๐Ÿ˜ฐ”

I tried to create a relaxing ambient: “Haha, you are breathing like a zombie! ๐Ÿ‘ป Have you heard about that story of the Indian prince, Siddhartha Gautama*?”

That question somewhat disrupted his growing self-create fear. ๐Ÿ˜

“What story?”, looking at me with curiosity.

“There was a time when this prince is confused about the purpose of life ๐Ÿ˜ต. He wishes to find out through asceticism. He starved himself for years eating only one piece of grain a day, and practiced all kind of weird meditations under a boddhi tree. He got so weak, appeared like a skeleton but he still couldn’t get his answer besides suffering…”

Le Supervisor was listening. I can see he has forgotten about his topic of complaint. โœŒ

“And?”

“One day, when he was practicing the self-imposed harsh again, he heard a lady singing a song.”

“Yeah?”, interested listener I had. ๐Ÿ˜

“The song is about the string of a musical instrument. If the string is too loose, there would be no music coming out from the instrument. If the string is too tight, it will break. It’s only when the string is moderately tighten, we can get the nice music for ears… Siddhartha heard that and realized that life is about moderation! He received the food offer from the lady, bathed himself, regained his strength and gained enlightenment on the same day. He found the meaning of life after quit pushing himself to the extreme. ๐Ÿ˜Š”

He nodded: “Is the lady’s name Sujata?”

“Yes! You know her! ๐Ÿ˜”

He smiled: “I’ve read about this story before but not as detail. ๐Ÿ˜Š”

“Great! Now please be inspired by Sujata, be moderate and don’t push yourself too hard. Or your wire *pointing my head* will break and you’ll go haywire. *raising my hands in the air and demo the facial expressions of a crazy man ๐Ÿ˜* Hehehehe…. ๐Ÿ˜”

He got my unexpected punchline and laughed out loud: “Hahahaha, you!!!! ๐Ÿ˜‚” ย *He got blown away by my funniness. ๐Ÿ˜œ

“Hehe. Just relax, you’ll be good. I have confident in you. ๐Ÿ’ช”

“Thank you, Angelyn. Now I feel better. You are really helping me. Phew….” *started humming his happy song* ๐Ÿ˜

His blue is gone. ๐ŸŽ‰๐ŸŽ‰๐ŸŽ‰

His face is red because of the laughter. Now he is having Red, Thursday Red. ๐Ÿ˜
*Yes, you are right. Siddhartha Gautama is also the later known Buddha (the enlightened one). He is the founder of Buddhism, a teaching/philosophy about life and living. ๐Ÿ™

4 Comments Add yours

Leave a Reply

