Mad Boss Management #2: Please drink Umeshu on behalf of me!!! ๐Ÿ˜Š

After my trip to the island with beautiful beaches, Le Supervisor and I started to work on the post-trip documents that we need to submit to the office as business trip report and also to get our expenses claimed. Le Supervisor really hates to work on administrative tasks. ๐Ÿ˜ Anyway, we worked together on this one, I did the major parts and he crossed check the little things. We submitted the forms right away after completion. ๐Ÿ“ฅ

Today, the forms bounce back to me from the main office. It states that there are some missing supportive documents that they need to proceed the payment. I read through the Japanese guideline, highlight the parts I need to follow-up and leave the documents on the super-obvious section on my deskย before I go for lunch. You know, just to get Le Supervisor to be mentally prepared for it before I talk about that ๐Ÿ˜. Yes, that’s my psychological strategyย (Part 1). Hehe

We have a 4-hour institutional level of meeting from 1330 to 1730 today.

I get back to the office by 1320 after lunch, he was obviously waiting for me to depart to the meeting venue together. Yeah, we usually do that ๐Ÿ˜‰. I can see from his face that he was in bad mood, and I think I know the reason. ๐Ÿ˜

He didn’t say anything, just looked at me in Poker face. I smiled, and he walked away without waiting for me. Ok, that’s fine. ๐Ÿ˜…

He was walking slowly in front of me, and I walked even slower so that I couldn’t make to catch his pace (on purpose ๐Ÿ˜œ). I call it the Part 2 ๐Ÿ˜‚.

When I got to the hall, I saw him reserving the seat next to him (probably for me). Anyway, I decided to sit 5 seats across the hall from him ๐Ÿ˜. You are stupid if you know someone is going to erupt and you still decide to stick with him ๐Ÿ˜. Be clever, keep a safe distance ๐Ÿ˜.

The meeting started, I noticed he was peeking at me from his seat ๐Ÿ‘€. I pretended I didn’t see him ๐Ÿ˜. Psychological strategy โ€ข Part 3 ๐Ÿ˜. I personally think it is good to give him solo time, so that he cool down before he opens his mouth.

During the break, I encountered the organizer (Ma Sensei) of a forum I would be presenting about my research ๐Ÿ“š. I stop to talk to him, asking him about the preparation and information he needs from me. Well, Le Supervisor saw us, and he stood aside and listen to our conversation ๐Ÿ˜ฎ.

Ma Sensei was telling me about a “one-sentence appeal” I need to submit to him blar3… I repeated after him “one-sentence appeal, ok!”, before I thanked him and walked my way back to our office.

Le Supervisor caught me, smiled and said: “What’s that one-sentence thing about? ๐Ÿ˜Š” Ok, I can see he is calmer now. We talked about the appeal and what I plan to present in that invited forum…๐Ÿ“ˆ๐Ÿ“Š๐Ÿ“‰๐Ÿ“„๐Ÿ“๐Ÿ“œ๐Ÿ”ฌ๐ŸŽฌ

When we got back to the office, he took a glance at the “mad-boss-inducing” documents on my desk ๐Ÿ˜.

I told him: “This got back to me this morning, here, we need to prepare this, and this and this… *reading the lines to him* What is this about? โ‰โ‰”, there is a line that I don’t really understand.

“I don’t know! Angelyn, this is too much!!! ๐Ÿ’ข๐Ÿ’ข๐Ÿ’ข”, he raised his voice.

I replied in a calming tone: “When you are ready for this, let’s work on it together again ๐Ÿ˜Š. I can prepare the rest after the meeting later ๐Ÿ‘Œ.”

He was flared up: “This is so stupid! We had everything they need and now they want more blar3…. *complaining in rage*…. โœจโœจ๐Ÿ”ฅ๐Ÿ”ฅ๐Ÿ”ฅ”

I looked at him with tender in my eyes ๐Ÿ˜Š: “It’s fine. I just tell you the updates about the claims. I will figure it out soon ๐Ÿ‘.”

He got so mad (on the tedious administrative requests), he screamed: “Awwww Angelyn, I don’t know!!! ๐ŸŒ‹๐ŸŒ‹๐ŸŒ‹”, and left to the meeting hall again. I decided not to sit with him in the second session of the meeting as well, and I think you know why ๐Ÿ˜œ.

I got back to the hall 3 minutes after him, and concentrate for another 2 hours of meeting. I noticed he kept checking on me from time to time, but I avoid direct eye contact with him ๐Ÿ˜. I would not explain why, but this is Part 4 ๐Ÿ™Œ.

After the meeting, I had a short discussion with another professor (Kt Sensei) asking his opinion on my coming research plan. He knows a technique I am yet to learn ๐Ÿ”ฎ. Le Supervisor stood aside and started talking to Kt Sensei’s assistant until I walked away ๐Ÿ˜….

He ran after me ๐Ÿƒ๐Ÿƒ๐Ÿƒ: “Angelyn~~~๐ŸŽถ๐ŸŽถ๐ŸŽถ”, screaming in the hallway as if there were nobody, but it was packed with meeting attendees. LOL!!! Everyone was looking at him. ๐Ÿ˜…

I stopped and waited for him ๐Ÿง.

“Are you mad at me?”

“Huh? Nooooo, why would I mad at you when you are already mad on your own? ๐Ÿ˜œ”, I cracked a smile.

He was relieved (I don’t know why, haha!): “Phew…. Are you going to the party later? ๐Ÿ˜Ž”

Yes, we have a huge party after this extraordinarily important meeting ๐Ÿป๐Ÿป๐Ÿป๐Ÿป๐Ÿป๐Ÿป๐Ÿป๐Ÿป๐Ÿป๐Ÿป.

Me: “Nooooo. Why?”

“Oh, why aren’t you coming? I thought you would come with me??? ๐Ÿ˜’”, disappointed poor thingย ๐Ÿ˜.

I gave him a beam without saying anythingย ๐Ÿ˜Š.

He continued to persuade: “X Sensei says if you come, he will sponsor you and pay more ๐Ÿ’ณ๐Ÿ’ด๐Ÿ’ด๐Ÿ’ด! You can drink for free. Please come and enjoy together… ๐Ÿ˜Ž”

It was a surprise: “Really ๐Ÿ˜? Great!!! ๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿ‘ Please drink on behalf of me ๐Ÿ˜Š.”

“Come on Angelyn, please come! ๐Ÿ˜ฃ”

“Neh, I will have to work on THE THING later ๐Ÿ“‹๐Ÿ“„๐Ÿ“ƒ. Please drink double, one for yourself, one for me ๐Ÿ˜Š. I will inform X Sensei to pay extra โœŒ๐Ÿ˜.”

“Are you sure?”

“Yeah, I want to have umeshu*, two cups please! ๐Ÿธ๐Ÿธ๐Ÿ˜Š”

He giggled: “Ok, I will drink for youย ๐Ÿ’ช.”

umeshu
Umeshuย 

We got back to the office in good mood x2 ๐ŸŽ‰๐ŸŽ‰๐ŸŽŠ๐ŸŽŠ.

He sat down: “Angelyn, what can I help with the documents? ๐Ÿ’ƒ”, this time in cheerful mode. Oh, my capricious supervisor! ๐Ÿ˜‚

“Now you are good? ๐Ÿ˜”

“Angelyn, I’m sorry for just now. I really get annoyed with these…”

“It’s fine *flipping my hand* ๐Ÿ‘‹. I understand ๐Ÿ˜Š. In fact, I already expected you will scream, but I still need to ask you about that. So I put on an invisible helmet before I asked you ๐Ÿ™‰๐Ÿ™ˆ๐Ÿ™Š๐Ÿ˜.”

He got tickled: “What helmet? Yeah, you really know me! ๐Ÿ˜Ž I was knocking on your head just now, luckily you have the helmet. Hahaha!”, joyful supervisor is cute ๐Ÿ˜…. LOL!!!

We had a short discussion and decided on a day and time to work on it afterwards ๐Ÿ™Œ.

I walked him to the party venue and waved goodbye to him: “Have fun and don’t forget my umeshu! ๐Ÿ˜‰”

“Bye bye, see you tomorrow. ๐Ÿ˜ƒ” He got in to the venue smiling from ear to ear. ย I don’t know why but at that moment I was feeling like dropping my kid to school. Hahahahaha!

Phew….

Bye bye, Madness! ๐Ÿ‘‹

Bye bye, Mad boss!ย ๐Ÿ‘‹๐Ÿ‘‹

Bye bye, crazy documents! ๐Ÿ‘‹๐Ÿ‘‹๐Ÿ‘‹

I am going home~~~ ๐Ÿ˜Š

 

๐ŸŒธ๐ŸŒธBONUS๐ŸŒธ๐ŸŒธ

Anger Management Tip:

If a person is upset, hold him and tell him how handsome he is. If he starts to growl, retreat to a safe distance and throw laugh bombs at him. ๐Ÿ’ฃ๐Ÿ’ฃ๐Ÿ’ฃ๐Ÿ’ฃ ๐Ÿ˜

 

 

*Umeshu (ๆข…้…’) is a Japanese liqueur made by steeping ume fruits (while still unripe and green) in alcohol (็„ผ้…Ž shลchลซ) and sugar.

 

Read another story on my Mad Boss:ย Mad Boss Management #1: Give me 1 million USD! ๐Ÿ˜

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

